top of page

Please welcome multi-talented painter, poet and musician Michael Garvey

Q. In an age where poetry for many has lost much of its’ appeal what made you decide to write poetry?

My love of language and words.

Q. You’re also an artist; do you find art and poetry complement each other or are they quite different ways of expressing yourself?

I see them as connected because they’re both very personal, individual ways of expressing feelings

I’ve started to look at ways to link them as well.

One of Michael's masterpieces

Q. You appear to be quite well travelled, does experiencing different locations, places, cultures etc help you in your art and writing?

Travel as they say broadens the mind. If I hadn’t moved to America, and started writing in character to impress a girl I don’t think I would’ve found out I had that skill. Ironically it was also moving to another country and feeling homesick and alienated that also brought a lot of feelings out that lead to many poems.

Q. You write very emotive and also very topical poetry. Do you use poetry as a cathartic form of working through your emotions or issues?

Absolutely, it always works out the mind to get it down on paper. As a contemporary writer living in this challenging time I feel it’s almost my duty to write about issues that concern me and the world we live.

Q. Your poem ‘Memories Of A Six Year Old Boy’ reads incredibly true to life. So for a two-part question, Was that poem based on your real life experiences?

Yes absolutely, I placed it in a time when I consider the world of a six year old to quite free. And all the passages are true. I remember being what we call in England ‘a jumble sale kid’ which is where my mum used to take me along to get clothing and toys when I was a child. Again another passage brings back a strong memory of going along with my dad and sister to place called THE BARGIN STORE to sell his records because we had no money.

Q. And if so is that something you do with all your poetry?

I am doing it more and more, everything I do creatively is based in reality and truth.

Q. Your artistic style has been described by some as ‘eclectic’; do you feel that is a fair description of your work?

For sure I have so many interests in life that I can’t just write or paint in one style, in fact the moment I feel myself starting to get pigeonholed I start to panic creatively.

Q. You once listed ‘This Is Spinal Tap’ as one of your favourite movies [I confess it’s also one of mine] – what was it about this particular film that really appealed to you?

The truth in it is unbelievable, I played guitar in bands for a while. In fact it’s painful ha ha ha...there’s a part in where the singer David Stubbins said his girlfriend could tell his larynx is fat because he’s had too much sugar....well I was in a band with a girl singer who wouldn’t sing if the temperature wasn’t right in the room... experience is stranger than fiction.. ha ha ha.

Q. You’ve been quoted as making various remarks regarding renewable energy; would you classify yourself as an environmentalist?

Totally, it’s a fact if we don’t look after this world, there will be no more world. Renewable energy is only one small answer. Why use heavy polluting fuels or at worst nuclear, that will not solve anything.

Q. What advice would you give to someone thinking about a career in the arts?

The only advice I’d give is JUST DO IT, there’s so many people would love to be a painter, artist, actor, writer etc. but never even try, you really have to just start, that’s it. Give it a go you never know, I’ve only been writing for about three years I’ve always loved words so I thought I’d give it go. It was the same with art id always loved art so I thought I’d give it a try. But you have to start, dreaming isn’t good enough.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page